Author Topic: Boris from PA via CA.  (Read 8193 times)

Offline Boris Badinov

• BATTLEFIELD COMMISSION
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sharp-Shooter
Boris from PA via CA.
« on: January 16, 2017, 01:21:42 PM »
Greetings all. And, thanks for having me.

I'm new to sks collecting But I've followed
the various Sks forums for the better part of the last decade.  I got my first sks last April...but the bug bit deep and  has taken a virulent and unshakeable hold.

My collection grew quickly -- 21 or 22 SKS variants before December. I've since lightened up my collection to focus on all matching carbines and/or unique variants. My current obsession is the Soviet Sneak-- which I often refer to as the Type45/56 as the term 'sneak' (much like Izzy, or Ghost -- which are also ok by me) is irksome to some collectors and quickly derails many threads when used.

I am member of several sks forums -- but as a resource I generally steer newbs and inquiring minds to the sks-files and weebly chinesesks pages; As the depth and breadth of sks research is unparalleled.

Kudos. Great work!

As it stands, my collection now consists of 15 carbines:

-1950 (possibly '51) Spring loaded. Non Chrome lined . 45° fgb. Type 45/56
-1952-54  Type 45/56
-1954 Izhevsk. XXXXstock.  refurb-lite.
-1955 Tula-- as-issued* w/ Bubba lite stock refinish   
-1958 "K" Type 45/56 All Matching Laminate stock

--Two 1960 Romy's -- both refurbs

-187K Ghost All matching
-210K Ghost All Matching
-2mil /26\ All matching
-3mil /26\ All Matching. (Rifle from Century Arms' online add from October 2012)
-"M" letter /26\ All Matching
-"E" letter /26\ All matching
-11mil /26\ All Matching. As-issued.
-7mil /6616\ mismatch w/cheese grater. and the most accurate gun in my collection.

I'd like to one day add a NK an NVA and an Albanian to my collection. And fill the serial gaps in the early type 56s.

My Unicorn, however, would be a 90° Type 45/56.A pretty tall order, of course, but it can't hurt to put the word out there.