Author Topic: I was looking for an M1917 and ended up with a K98?  (Read 9558 times)

Offline Phosphorus32

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • Sniper
  • Send lawyers guns and money...uh, skip the lawyers
I was looking for an M1917 and ended up with a K98?
« on: June 12, 2015, 10:41:40 PM »
I've made some allusions to Blicero spending my money over the last couple of weeks, and this is the story...and the rifle.

So, I've been hankering for an M1917 rifle and had my eyes on a nice Winchester on GB.  Struck up a PM conversation with Kevin about it late in the auction and it ultimately ended up going beyond what I was willing to spend (yeah, I'll probably kick myself down the road).  Anyhow, after the auction had closed he's looking for other M1917s and sends me a link to another suspect...and also this link and comment: "If you're looking to make a Tuesday night interesting you need to buy this now. It has sleeper written all over it." http://www.gunbroker.com/Auction/ViewItem.aspx?Item=486888095

Take a quick glance at the four poor auction pics before you read on.  I respond with something like do you feel fairly good about this one. Well, besides responding with details about the value of the walnut stock etc., he says: "Somebody will take that gamble by tomorrow night."

So I responded with "SOLD!"

It arrived today just 10 days post auction and I'm simply astounded...and grateful! Thanks Kevin!!! :)  Your instincts were spot on!  thumb1

The bolt is a mismatch with the rifle but matches itself. The only mismatched part on the rest of the rifle is the handguard.  The bluing is fantastic, just a bit of shallow old pitting on the exposed end of the barrel and the rifling is sharp and bore is mirror bright.  No import mark.  Silky smooth 5-1/2 lb trigger. Basically, what I'm saying is, this Mauser is not leaving my stable until my wife sells it because my ashes have already been scattered in the Cascade Mountains  rofl