Author Topic: Gunslick Copper Klenz??  (Read 4272 times)

Offline jd?

• SKS-FILES CONTRIBUTOR
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Marksman
Gunslick Copper Klenz??
« on: March 13, 2015, 10:44:01 PM »
I'm currently "de-copperfying" the bores on my heavily used varmint rifles.  Got me a bottle of "Gunslick Copper-Klenz".  I've never used the stuff before.  Guess it's doin the job. 

Anyone ever use this before?  Any tips?  Preferances for something different? jd 
I don't want to belong to any club that will accept me as a member.  Groucho Marx

Offline Dannyboy53

• Trade Count: (+3)
  • Sniper
Re: Gunslick Copper Klenz??
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2015, 01:57:56 PM »
I've never used it before jd but thanks for sharing the info, good to know.

Offline Greasemonkey

• Professional foul mouth. Banned for life!! Certified Enabler
  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+14)
  • Sniper
  • The only way to avoid SKS #2, is avoid SKS #1!
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2015, 02:09:40 PM »
I can't say I've used it. I've always been leary of copper removers, especially with chrome bores. Chrome plating, from what I understand, is a layer of copper, then nickle, then chrome. Now what if you have a thin spot or a nick? And it removes copper. :o

And then there is this, from way back in the day.. :)

I'm going to make him an offer he can't refuse......

Leave the gun, take the cannoli.

I said I was an addict........I didn't say I had a problem

Offline Dannyboy53

• Trade Count: (+3)
  • Sniper
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2015, 02:15:17 PM »
That makes sense. I remember those periodicals, a preventive maintenance pamplet that used to give tips on care for everything in the inventory!

Offline jd?

• SKS-FILES CONTRIBUTOR
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Marksman
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2015, 09:51:12 PM »
GM, that is a cool pamphlet you've got there.