Author Topic: 1940 Heinrich Krieghoff Luger , and Historical Veteran Info  (Read 4751 times)

Offline martin08

• Trade Count: (+2)
  • Marksman
Why buy fifteen collectible SKS carbines when you can have just one Krieghoff Luger?  :o

(GM, the follow part of the post is for you.  As a C13 Mechanic, I'm sure you'll be able to relate.  And thank you for your service to Country!)

clap2

Sgt. Eugene "Gene" Townsend of the 32nd Squadron of the 301st Bombardment Group kept the following War Trophy from 1945 until his passing in 2009.  A local collector bought it from his widow, and I bought it from the collector over the weekend.

Aside from the excellent condition of a grail Luger, I also received quite a surprise when I researched Sgt. Townsend's service records.  "Gene" M. Townsend, noted on the War Trophies document, was an MOS Engineer for the B17 Bomber and has a history of moderate celebrity with the 32nd Bombardment Squadron of the 301st Bombardment Group (H) AAF.

In addition to keeping the bombers mechanically sound, the Nose Art designs of over forty B17 Bombers are attributed to Townsend's painting skills, and is well documented on Boyd Thompson's 32nd Bomb Squadron, 1942-1945, Web-Site.

http://32ndbombsquadron.com/32ndart.html

The names of two other Servicemen which appear on the document, George E Kolodziej and Richard E. Blodeau, were also from the 301st Bombardment Group.  War Trophy firearms whereabouts from those two men are unknown, but are documented by serial number.  And although John H. Lurhs does not appear on the document, his name appears on the roster for the 32nd Squadron of the 301st, and on the body and shoulder strap of the US M3 1911 holster which accompanied the Krieghoff Luger.

http://www.301bg.com/32nd_squadron_servicemen.cfm