Author Topic: 1976 Albanian...Original? Need honest assessment....  (Read 4176 times)

Offline Bob_The_Student

• SKS-FILES CONTRIBUTOR
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Sharp-Shooter
1976 Albanian...Original? Need honest assessment....
« on: November 18, 2018, 06:53:19 AM »
  Good morning all. Some Sunday morning eye candy that hopefully is all original but I'm no expert like most of you. Boris Badinov asked me to post a Russian SKS I had on Gunboards over here awhile back but Running Man visited it over there so I didn't post over here. This one, however, was bought because of information I read on this forum. So please give me a brutally honest assessment. Thanks

*Also let me know about sling is that original? Is it worth anything? Are there any markings that may be on it?

I hope I posted photos correctly....... Ha checked preview some nice big pictures hope you see them.

Thanks

Online Boris Badinov

• BATTLEFIELD COMMISSION
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Sharp-Shooter
Re: 1976 Albanian...Original? Need honest assessment....
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2018, 09:41:42 AM »

The pair of serif sevens on the bolt identify it as an early Chinese bolt that has been overstruck with a new serial. The cover serial also looks odd because of the dent, and might possibly be a replacement. My guess is that they were possibly restruck by a unit armorer -- and not in a fully equipped arsenal facility.   

The curve in the carrier charging handle looks rough, uneven.  And it also looks like it may have been scrubbed and restamped. Which has me wondering if it might have been fashioned from a Russian or Chinese bolt and then scrubbed and reserialized.  With the Chinese replacement bolt, this would also make sense.

Did you get a good deal?

« Last Edit: November 18, 2018, 10:18:55 AM by Boris Badinov »

Offline Bob_The_Student

• SKS-FILES CONTRIBUTOR
  • Sharp-Shooter
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2018, 11:11:10 AM »