Author Topic: The precursor to the SKS: The SVT40 (or, formerly, SKS VS SVT40)  (Read 12239 times)

Offline Blicero

• Always plays Bf8
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • Sharp-Shooter
  • Hermann Goering is my copilot
The precursor to the SKS: The SVT40 (or, formerly, SKS VS SVT40)
« on: September 16, 2014, 11:33:45 PM »
I was looking for an excuse to handle firearms and burn a few hours, so I figured I'd break down the SKS next to the Tokarev for a little compare/contrast.

I've seen discussions about the differences between the two rifles, but never a good, detailed breakdown of each one next to the other. It's easy to look at the mammoth ww2 made Tokarev next to the more compact Simonov carbine and think they are vastly different and a comparison is not necessary. But the more I think about it, the more similarities I see, and the more I think this discussion is in order.

As a disclaimer, let me say I am an expert on neither SKS nor SVT 40. I'm just a guy who loves to own & shoot them. I just want to share some observations and a ton of pictures, and hopefully spark a conversation.

I'm breaking it down into the two categories I think guys like us like most about surplus arms: History, and shooting. First, here's an overview of both rifles:

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The basics

Both the SKS & Tokarev SVT 40 are semi-automatic, gas operated/piston driven rifles with 10-round capacity designed for and issued to Soviet infantry. Both are meant to be loaded via stripper clip.

Overall length:
SKS: 40 inches
Tokarev: 48 inches

Barrel length:
SKS: 20.5 inches
Tokarev: 24.5 inches

Weight unloaded:
SKS: 9 pounds
Tokarev: 9 pounds
(Those numbers thanks to my bathroom scale, probably not the best method, but only one available to me.)

Caliber:
SKS: 7.62x39, 10 round capacity
Tokarev: 7.62x54r, 10 round capacity

Military debut:
SKS: 1949
Tokarev: 1939