Author Topic: SKS Magazine Lock-in and Trigger Group Attachment Question  (Read 561 times)

Offline newuserwithaquestion

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Newber
SKS Magazine Lock-in and Trigger Group Attachment Question
« on: August 25, 2022, 03:29:39 PM »
Hello,
This is my first time re-assembling my Chinese surplus SKS. Attempting to lock in the magazine, I find that it locks in via its hook, but that the wider end where the trigger group is supposed to fit around does not go down far enough(I believe), and therefore it seems that I cannot complete the installation. Please see the pictures below for clarification:

This is what the magazine looks like when the frontal, thinner portion hooks in(I am only doing it off of the stock for the purpose of taking pictures):

Although the front part is hooked in as pictured above - and while perhaps this is how it is supposed  to look - with the front part hooked in above, I don't think that the wider, back portion of the magazine is going down or can go down far enough. Trying to fit the trigger group into its slot, it will simply not go in:

This is how I think the back portion of the magazine is supposed to look in order to complete the assembly. When it looks like this, I can fit the trigger group into its slot:

But, the problem is that I can only get the back of the magazine to look like this when the front portion of the magazine is not hooked in:

Therefore, I am currently here:

My thoughts:
-I am new to this, so maybe I am missing something that seems obvious to you guys.
-Maybe I just need to apply a lot of pressure to the top of the magazine in order get the wider portion down far enough to be able to attach the trigger group properly?
-Maybe I am wrong about how far the magazine needs to go in(I don't think so)?

Also:
-The bolt is not attached.
-The trigger is on safe.

Nevertheless, I am asking for help as you are knowledgeable about this and I do not want to break anything.

Thank you for the interest. ???