Author Topic: Artillery Weapons Base - Moscow Region (pic heavy)  (Read 17306 times)

Offline running-man

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Sniper
  • The only way to avoid Mosin #2 is avoid Mosin #1!
Artillery Weapons Base - Moscow Region (pic heavy)
« on: November 23, 2015, 12:16:38 AM »
Here's an off the wall topic that I've been contemplating posting for several months now.  I happened to stumble upon a very lucky find while doing a simple Google search for:

Aртиллерийская База Вооружения

Which loosely translated is "Artillery Base Weapons" and is condensed to the acronym "AБВ" (ABV in English) used in the various 'known' Soviet era refurb facilities such as 1871st ABV in Liski (our /1\ ex-ex-DDRs) or the 1827th ABV in Nizhyn. 

Anyhow, it turns out that there was an ABV near Moscow that is long abandoned.  Various hardware still exists inside it and various members of "urban explorer" groups go out (possibly illegally, they mention evading guards and whatnot), enter these abandoned sites, and take photos to post on their blogs.

I found a site that describes one of these bases in detail, complete with lots of neat old photos (note, all of these photos taken and owned by alexdoomer2009):

http://alexdoomer2009.livejournal.com/180547.html (in original Russian)
http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&sl=ru&tl=en&u=http%3A%2F%2Falexdoomer2009.livejournal.com%2F180547.html&sandbox=1 (translated to English via Google translate)

Nice thing about this one is it has a description caption for each photo.  Anyhow, not a ton on SKSs or weapons in general there at all.  There were lots of photos of optics though, and we know many optics went through refurb at these types of facilities:

and large piles of old helmets: