Author Topic: The Practical SKS  (Read 2678 times)

Offline cwogrant

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Newber
The Practical SKS
« on: December 22, 2020, 01:56:40 PM »
THE PRACTICAL SKS
By Michael Grant
December 22, 2020

I have been tinkering with my Norinco SKS for over twenty years and thought I would share my “lessons learned” with those who want a truly useful rifle. There are many accessories for this rifle and I have tried nearly all of them. You can save yourself a lot of time and money by reading this article.

WHAT THE SKS IS NOT
The SKS is not a sniper rifle; it is not a high-tech tactical black rifle; is not a less expensive version of the AK-47; and it is not a piece of junk. It is a very well-built general purpose 30-caliber rifle. I have spent a lot of time on the range with my SKS and it has never jammed in its original configuration. The AR-15 and AK-47 type rifles are very popular on the range and I always see people having problems with them.

My current version (shown below) will put meat on the table or defend the homestead with absolute reliability. It is true carbine length (39.75 inches), has a 13.5-inch pull and will consistently shoot two-inch groups at 100 yards with good ammo.

STOCK