Author Topic: Chinese SKS Sino-Soviet????  (Read 4666 times)

Offline Tvchance

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Cadet
Chinese SKS Sino-Soviet????
« on: October 19, 2017, 06:04:09 PM »
I purchased a Chinese SKS from an older gentleman. The Serial number is K473- It bears a Triangle arsenal mark (I cannot make-out the numbers inside this triangle) and a "Ridgefield" import marking. I'm new to SKS rifles but it is my understanding that this is a Sino-Soviet rifle, made in 1956. Is this correct? Any help or guidance you can provide is greatly appreciated! Tom

Offline spongemonkey

• SKS-FILES CONTRIBUTOR
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Marksman
Re: Chinese SKS Sino-Soviet????
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2017, 06:16:15 PM »
Welcome to the forum Tom!  If you can please post up pics of it as they will help those of us here help identify and decifer its identity.  Just from the info you are providing I am guessing that it could be a Chinese "letter" rifle.  If so, those where usually about the time of 1959.  But as usual, I could be wrong.

Offline Power Surge

• BATTLEFIELD COMMISSION
  • Sharp-Shooter
  • Commercial dude
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2017, 06:26:23 PM »
I purchased a Chinese SKS from an older gentleman. The Serial number is K473- It bears a Triangle arsenal mark (I cannot make-out the numbers inside this triangle) and a "Ridgefield" import marking. I'm new to SKS rifles but it is my understanding that this is a Sino-Soviet rifle, made in 1956. Is this correct? Any help or guidance you can provide is greatly appreciated! Tom

There's no such thing as a "sino-soviet"... that's an old term used from another forum back when it was believed those were Russian cryllic letters, and thus assumed that those rifles must be the first batch of Chinese made with Russian aid.